Ting Chang: Travel, Collecting, and Museums of Asian Art in Nineteenth-Century Paris

nottsarthistory

I am very happy to say that my latest book is now out, published by Ashgate. The title is Travel, Collecting, and Museums of Asian Art in Nineteenth-Century Paris, which is deliberately simple and self explanatory. It has most of the keywords and I hope that it will pop up on the screen easily.

Now that it is out, I think back to how it started and why I wrote it. I remember going to the Musée Cernuschi in Paris and wondering how all those porcelains and bronzes, a gigantic statue of Buddha, and many other objects got there. By what routes had they travelled, with whom, and why? Like everybody, my research began with a series of questions. I looked into the founder of the museum, Enrico Cernuschi (1821-1896), an Italian who built a mansion for himself on the edge of a public garden, the Parc Monceau, in…

View original post 661 more words

Leave a Reply

