An alumna’s guide to Nottingham’s arts scene

nottsarthistory

My name is Laura-Jade Klée and in 2011 I graduated with a degree in Art History at University of Nottingham and entered a new life of working full-time within the art world in Nottingham.

Whilst at university, I had spent some time assisting at various galleries and I had discovered the fantastic young arts scene in Nottingham. Many recent graduate artists stay in Nottingham after graduation and initiate exciting projects or start galleries and collectives- I had decided that I wanted to be one of them. I currently work within two galleries whilst also doing arts writing and curating site-specific artworks.

Photo credits: Laura-Jade Klee

I am part of an art collaboration called Sidelong and together we explore the idea of the curated walk and re-interpret the landscape in unusual ways. We are inspired by psychogeography and fictionalized histories, and our work draws attention to intriguing features of the cityscape that are often overlooked…

View original post 601 more words

Leave a Reply

